The Cranky Ballerina

Author(s): Elise Gravel

Hardback

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada plies right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great! In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban's Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada's stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book-full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel's signature vibrant illustrations-is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers. Children who love ballet-and definitely those who don't-will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn't like in order to discover what she loves.

$29.99(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

This book will resonate with children, especially those who have yet to channel their misunderstood talents. A noteworthy addition for most collections. Fans of Gravel will get a kick out of this grouchy character. -- School Library Journal Praise for I LOVE MONSTERS: The abundance of rainbow-hued monsters suggests that Gravel probably had a grand time flinging darts at a color wheel. -- Kirkus Reviews

Elise Gravel always liked bugs and cats and lizards and other bizarre creatures. Oh, and she also loves baby humans, who she finds very weird and adorable. The author-illustrator of Adopt a Glurb! and the Disgusting Critters series, Elise lives in Montreal, Canada, with her husband, two daughters, and two cranky cats, so she would be extremely happy if she could have a pet monster as well. Can she have one, please, please, pretty please?

General Fields

  • : 9780062351241
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • : HarperCollins
  • : September 2016
  • : 229mm X 229mm X 6mm
  • : October 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : 1016
  • : Elise Gravel
  • : 32
  • : illustrations
  • : Elise Gravel